Radschaft

Closing the Cycle

Radschaft collects your organic waste by cargo bike, transforms the biomass into high-grade compost and delivers local products to you.

A third of Basel’s household waste is made up of food waste. Currently, less than 1% of the city’s biomass is collected and recycled in the deposit system run by the city of Basel. Moreover, the local city composting sites available are very limited in capacity and number. Because alternatives either don’t exist or are too much of a hassle for the average consumer, a large proportion of resource-rich waste ends up in incinerators, where the organic material is not being reused and instead removed from its natural cycle. Meanwhile, eco-balance analyses show that reusing organic waste does not just close nutrient cycles but can also create high-quality products.

Organic waste should not be part of mixed waste and should instead be recycled. With our convenient and sustainable collection and recycling service, we offer the population of the city of Basel incentives to collect their organic waste separately from mixed waste. Organic waste is collected from households once a week using environmentally-friendly cargo bikes and then composted in our own hot composter. We currently produce organic fertiliser for regional agriculture and for urban gardening. In addition, we intend to make biogas from the biomass to provide an environmentally-friendly fuel source for heat, electricity and vehicles.

About Radschaft

Radschaft is an association in Basel, which started as a pilot project in late 2019. In April 2020, the project was successfully launched across the entire Gundeldingen area. The plan is to continuously develop the offer and make it available in other neighbourhoods of Basel. The team is currently made up of four permanent members and all income is reinvested in the maintenance and development of the project. Our aim is to make more efficient and sustainable use of municipal resources and enable a closure of the local natural nutrient cycle by making appropriate use of organic material.

Participate

Become part of the Smart City Lab Basel!​

Submit a project idea, join our test community or subscribe to our newsletter and stay informed about events and new projects in the Smart City Lab Basel.

Radschaft

Closing the Cycle

Radschaft holt Ihre Bioabfälle mit dem Lastenfahrrad ab, verarbeitet die Biomasse zu hochwertigem Kompost und beliefert Sie auf Wunsch gleichzeitig mit lokalen Produkten.

Ein Drittel des Basler Hauskehrichts wird mit Lebensmittelresten gefüllt. Aktuell wird weniger als 1% der anfallenden Biomasse durch das bestehende Bringsystem in der Stadt Basel gesammelt und verwertet. Zudem sind die verfügbaren städtischen Quartierkomposte in ihrer Anzahl und Aufnahmekapazität stark begrenzt. Weil Alternativen fehlen oder zu umständlich sind, landet ein Grossteil der ressourcenreichen Abfälle schliesslich in der Kehrichtverbrennungsanlage, wo die enthaltene organische Substanz nicht ausgeschöpft und dem ökologischen Kreislauf entzogen wird.

Die Ökobilanz hingegen beweist, dass mit der Verwertung von Bioabfällen nicht nur Stoffkreisläufe geschlossen, sondern auch qualitativ hochwertige Produkte erzeugt werden können.

Bioabfälle gehören nicht in den Müll, sondern sollen verwertet werden. Mit einem bequemen und nachhaltigen Abhol- und Recyclingservice von Bioabfällen bieten wir der Basler Stadtbevölkerung Anreize, ihre organischen Abfälle getrennt vom Restmüll zu sammeln. Rüstabfälle werden wöchentlich mit umweltfreundlichen Lastenfahrrädern direkt bei den Haushalten abgeholt und anschliessend in der eigenen Heissrotte kompostiert. Neben der Herstellung von organischem Dünger für die regionale Landwirtschaft und den städtischen Gartenbau, soll aus der Biomasse zukünftig auch Biogas als umweltschonende Energiequelle für Wärme, Strom und Fahrzeuge gewonnen werden.

Über Radschaft

Radschaft ist ein Verein aus Basel, der Ende 2019 mit einem Pilotversuch startete. Im April 2020 wurde das Projekt erfolgreich im gesamten Gundeldingen-Quartier lanciert. Das Angebot soll zudem kontinuierlich ausgedehnt werden und für weitere Stadtteile Basels zur Verfügung stehen. Derzeit besteht das Team aus vier ständigen Mitgliedern, wobei alle Einnahmen wieder in den Unterhalt und Ausbau des Projekts investiert werden. Ziel ist es, die kommunalen Ressourcen effizienter und nachhaltiger zu nutzen und den lokalen, natürlichen Nährstoffkreislauf durch die sachgemässe Verwertung von Biomaterial zu unterstützen.

Mitwirken

Werden Sie Teil des Smart City Labs Basel!

Melden Sie sich mit Ihrer Projektidee oder bleiben Sie mit unserem Newsletter informiert über Veranstaltungen und neue Projekte im Smart City Lab Basel.